The Green Monster

In my journey to better health I stumbled upon one of the most popular health trends of our time; the green smoothie. I have always loved veggies and fruit but even a food lover like myself chooses the mac n’ cheese over the salad 9 times out of 10. So, I was fascinated by the idea of liquefying my daily vegetable and fruit servings (which is now 2 cups of fruit and 2 1/2 cups of vegetables!) and decided to try it out for myself.

What is a green smoothie?

A green smoothie is literally what it sounds like, and looks like! It is a smoothie that is green. The idea behind a green smoothie is to mix greens such as spinach, kale, swiss chard, collard, etc. with fruit in a smoothie form. Why you may ask? Because greens such as those listed above contain vitamins, minerals, amino acids, antioxidants, and beneficial phytonutrients (plant-based nutrients that help to support your immune system).

Simple Green Smoothie’s listed their top 5 reasons they love green smoothies as being:

1.) They are a natural energy booster

2.) They can help to naturally lose weight

3.) They help keep your immune system strong

4.) They help fight disease

5.) They are quick and easy to make

My tips for you

First and foremost I want you all to know, if you blend a bunch of greens together and expect it to taste good, you’re wrong. I learned this the hard way. Mixing spinach, kale, celery, cucumbers, bananas and raspberries together will look green and taste bad. Making a delicious green smoothie is a trial and error process, so don’t be discouraged if your first smoothie doesn’t taste or look the way you expected (mixing fruits and veggies of different pigments will result in a brown smoothie).

Also don’t try to cram your entire day’s worth of vegetables and fruits into your breakfast! Balancing your nutrients throughout your day still applies, try adding protein powder to your smoothie to give yourself an extra boost, or scramble some eggs on the side! (Eating too many veggies at once could also result in an unhappy tummy.)

I recommend adding at least double the amount of fruit as vegetables to your smoothie, in my favorite green smoothie recipe I have listed below I add way more fruit than vegetables. That is simply a personal preference of mine with this specific recipe! Don’t be afraid to add more veggies and try smoothies of different colors! (I have found I love adding carrots to mine.)

Finally reference the internet for more great smoothie recipes, Simple Green Smoothies has dozens of great recipes to try and many other resources to guide you!

Happy smoothie making and enjoy!

XX,

Shannon

Ingredients:

  • 5-6 ice cubes
  • A handful of spinach
  • 2 kiwis
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp. vanilla protein powder
My favorite green smoothie!

My favorite green smoothie!

One thought on “The Green Monster

Leave a Reply

